Yorkshire Puddings

2 Nov

It started as a challenge from Andrew to see if I could make them, and it turned into an amazing dinner.

I started with a simple piece of roast (rather cheap) salt and peppered it and roasted it for about 45 minutes on a baking sheet covered with tin foil.  This made pouring the fat into a measuring cup a lot easier (and clean-up).  There was also lots of leftover roast, but no left over Yorkshire puddings!  It was actually a lot easier than I thought, although cooking time is a bit long so I would recommend for a Sunday night dinner not a weeknight.  I used rather large muffin tins for the Yorkshire puddings and they were big and fluffy and greasy and amazing…

Yorkshire Puddings
Source:  Thibeault’s Table via TasteSpotting

3 large eggs
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup cool milk
1/8 cup fat, reserved from roast

Put the eggs in a large bowl and beat with electric beater for one minute.

Add salt. Alternating the flour and the milk, add to the eggs.  Beat only until all ingredients are well combined.  Cover tightly and refrigerate. I refridgerated for about half an hour.
Pour reserved fat into the hot deglazed pan and place in the 450 oven.  Let heat for 3 to 4 minutes.  Pour cold batter directly into pan.  Cook for 15 minutes.

TIP:  The secret to the perfect Yorkshire is to make sure that there is sufficient fat in the bottom of each cup.   The fat should be at least 1/8 of a inch deep and should be smoking hot before pouring in the batter.  So don’t be stingy!

I served it with green beans quickly sauteed in butter with salt and pepper.  I know it’s not the traditional peas but I didn’t have any and I like green beans better.

2 Responses to “Yorkshire Puddings”

  1. Andrea November 2, 2009 at 5:46 pm #

    So I was digging around in Grandma’s cabinets this weekend and guess what I found? A 6 cupcake tin!

    Grandma: “That thing is old as the hills!”
    Me: “Are you kidding? These are the best, they don’t make em like this anymore.”
    Grandma: “In that case, you can have it.”
    Me: “Yorkshire pudding here I come!”

    I’ll let you know how it turns out. 🙂

    • hpcantua November 2, 2009 at 6:49 pm #

      Super cool! I wish you luck (although you won’t need any). And remember to take pictures!

Leave a Reply

