Chicken Adobo with Bok Choy

30 Jan

For my birthday, my mom got me a year subscription to Real Simple magazine. I really do like this magazine. It can be quite trendy and there are quite a few ads. But as far as magazines go, I really like the recipes as well as the stories about people’s lives. The only weird thing about the subscription is that my birthday was in September, and I got my first issue last week… I wrote and complained, but they just said the year would start with this issue. I don’t know why it took so long. But the wait was worth it, I tried the first recipe out of it today.

Andrew and I eat “stir fry”probably once a week. This consists of a bag of frozen vegetables with chicken and rice. Although it’s good, it can be a bit boring. So we thought we’d try it up with this recipe. I was actually a slow cook recipe that I didn’t think needed to be slow cooked, I just did it in the pan all at once. The “Tip” on the page is that Adobo is typically thought of as a Latin American dish, but this is a Filipino verson. It notes that you could subsitute spinach or chard for the bok choy. I also used boneless skinless chicken breasts instead of bone-in thighs, which would take longer.

Ingredients:

  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 2/3 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 1/3 cup low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 bay leaf
  • Black pepper
  • 2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, diced
  • 2 teaspoons paprika
  • 1 cup long-grain rice
  • 1 large head bok choy, cut into 1-inch strips
  • 2 scallions, thinly sliced (mine were from my backyard!)

Preparation:

  • Start cooking the rice as directed

  • In a heavy weight pan, put a quarter sized dash of olive oil. Saute the onions and garlic until browned. Add the vinegar, soy sauce, brown sugar, bay leaf, and pepper.
  • Place the chicken on top and brown (about 5 minutes). Add the paprika.
  • Cook over medium heat until the chicken and onions are tender, about 15 minutes.
  • When you have about 3 minutes left, gently fold in the bok choy and scallions


.

  • Serve with the rice.

Leave a Reply

