Chicken and Everything Else Salad

11 Feb

We are so close to Spring I can taste it. I know… I’m such a Californian, but even just a bit of fog and rain is enough to be “winter” around here and make me crave beautiful California sunshine. We’ve had a glimpse of what’s to come this week with temperatures in the high 60’s and sometimes even in the 70’s! In this spirit I thought about summer time foods–BBQing and salads! Then I thought, why not combine the two! Since I haven’t had a huge salad for dinner in awhile, once I thought to have one, I decided to throw basically everything I had into it… hence the name “Chicken and Everything Else Salad.”

The other great thing about California is that even though it’s “winter” I can still dig into the ground enough in order to grow some plants! In December I put in some Simpson Elite lettuce and Spinach, they finally look big enough to start “harvesting” so I cut off a couple leaves to put this together. Can’t get much more convenient then that!

Chicken seasoning adapted from Weber’s Real Grilling book.

Chicken and Everything Else Salad

Chicken Seasoning:

  • 2 teaspoons EVOO
  • 2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
  • 1/2 teaspoon prepared chili powder
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 2 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves

Salad “Extras” Ideas

  • Spinach any other kind of green leaf
  • Dried cranberries
  • 2 cups cooked tri-color rotini
  • Garlic croutons
  • Caesar dressing
  • 1/2 cook Quinoa
  1. Combine the seasons for the chicken and spread it all over the chicken
  2. Grill the chicken over Direct Medium heat until the meat is firm to the touch and no longer pink in the center, 8 to 12 minutes, turning once. Shred into bite sized pieces.
  3. In a large bowl, combine everything you can think of. Add dressing and toss. Season with pepper.

One Response to “Chicken and Everything Else Salad”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Baby Back Ribs BBQ « Heather's Food Blog - February 12, 2011

    […] some ribs and used my special super easy sauce to BBQ them up. We actually ate it with the “Chicken and Everything Else Salad” without the chicken in it. Pretty pretty good. Recipe adapted from Weber’s Real […]

Leave a comment